HOW TO PROPERLY SHARE GOOGLE DOCS AND GOOGLE DRIVE FILES

With many characteristics that make it the go-to tool for both official and personal use, Google Docs is one of the easiest and simplest platforms for creating and sharing important documents and google drive is the best place to store them and save them.

UNDERSTANDING GOOGLE'S PERMISSION MODEL

When you make a folder, it is set to Private by default, which ensures that only you can access it. You can monitor who has access to your document by clicking the Share menu in the top right corner. 

RESTRICT WHO CAN VIEW OR EDIT YOUR DOCUMENTS

You have the option of assigning viewing or editing rights when sending a document. The text will be editable by editors. The record can only be deleted by you, the owner. If you want to transfer ownership to somebody else after you’ve shared with them, you could do it in the sharing settings. Editors have the possibility to transform the document’s sharing settings by choice! Editors would have the ability to add people and adjust permissions. And then the document’s setting can be altered.

FEATURES TO DISABLE DOWNLOADS

 It is not possible to disable download for an entire folder; this must be performed only per-file. With Google’s instructions, you could limit who can download your Google Drive file.

PRIVACY OF DOCUMENTS

The following choices are available to you. That being said, if you’re certain that one of the other solutions is needed, it is recommended to keep your documents personal and only share them with a few people.Public on the web: Anybody on the Internet can search and access information that is public on the site. There is no need to log in.

 Anyone with a link: Everybody with a link has access and can view the documents. There is no need to log in.

 Private: Access is restricted to those who have been given specific consent. It is necessary to log in.

 

SHARE THROUGH FOLDERS AND NOT DOCUMENTS

If you intend to exchange documents with about the same set of people, in the long run, it’s advisable to keep a folder and share it. The documents you save in that folder will then be shared with the very same group of people by default. Specific document sharing requires long effort and can result in contradictions and discrepancies. It’s easier to monitor who has access to a folder when it’s shared, and it’s also easier to allow a new user the ability to access several files at once. Using a folder also encourages anyone in the group to contribute to it, resulting in an easily accessible repository of group materials. You wouldn’t need a folder if you should only have to share one document.

CHECK NAMES ACCURATELY

Make sure to choose the right contact while transferring a document or folder. If you’ve ever unintentionally emailed someone else, they may appear near the top of your list of recommendations whenever you type in their name. To prevent this, go over to your contacts folder in your email and erase the wrong contact.

BE CAREFUL WITH CONFIDENTIAL DATA

Never place your social security number or card details in something like a Google Doc! However, your document could contain certain sensitive information. If this is the case, it’s a good idea to double-check who has access to the text. To see who has access to your folder, open it, go to the Share menu in the upper right corner, and pick “Sharing Settings.” This will list the people who have now been granted access to your text, whether it is shared separately or through a folder.

SHARE WITH A GROUP

Google Groups has also been used to grant document permissions. This will save a huge amount of time and preserve the quality, particularly in large departments. You may need to submit a message to a community to share a document.

HOW TO SEARCH YOUR DOCUMENTS

Just like Google’s mail search, the documents search is powerful and offers a lot of options. You can do a simple search by typing a search term into the search box at the top of your docs.   

Advanced Search

Click the Advanced Search Options to the right of the search box above your number of documents to reach the advanced Docs search. After that, enter one or more requirements. While entering in an email address, do not select a title from the drop-down menu; instead, enter the email address and then press the Search button otherwise, to get results.

Searches Saved

While accessing search results, you could save a search by tapping the Save button. This Search button in the bar at the top of the page. This allows customers to view your search easily in the future without remembering what you were looking for. On the left of your Docs home, your saved searches will appear.